Article Index




AHWIAA St. Peter, P. O. Box 5719, Kumasi, Tel. 03220-70368
Parish Priest Rev. Fr. Joseph Savino Gyimah (0206297955)
Sunday Mass 6.30 a.m.,9:30a.m
Outstations (2) Asennua, Meduma - South Africa
Short History The Church was started around 1950. The founding members were Augustine Kwaning, Opanin Yaw Nsiah, Kwame Ofori, Martha Amma Dapaa, Mary Barnie Snr., all of whom are dead. From the beginning they were attending mass or church service at Kumasi St. Peter’s Cathedral. Later on, one Mr. Ansah, a catechist of the Cathedral, mobilized them and held church service with them sometimes on Sundays because he was in charge of Pankrono, Maase and Atimatim. The Church started having a firm foundation in 1958 when the first Holy Mass was said by Fr. C. Bouchier. After him came the following priests: Frs. G. Joosten, Walter Pepping, G. O. Asare and Peter Van Strien. Mr. Joseph Poku Berko was the president then. The Church members were virtually school children. The first church harvest took place in 1966 which yielded eighty cedis (¢80.00). They then started putting up a small church building, as at that time they were attending church in a classroom of the Catholic Primary School. This station became a Parish in the year 2000 under Msgr. Thomas K. Manu Denteh. The Parish initially comprised ten local communities; Ahwiaa, Atimatim, Besease, Maase, Asenua, Bampenase, Wawase, Ebom, Adwumakaase-Kese and Sweduru. The first parish Catechist was Joseph Cosmas Nkansah. In the year 2004, Atimatim, Maase, Besease, Wawase and Sweduru were separated from Ahwiaa and became a parish with Atimatim as the centre. The Ahwiaa Parish was thus left with five local communities; Ahwiaa, Asennua, Bampenase, Ebom and Adwumakaase-Kese. Mr. Paul Jude Oppong was engaged by Msgr. Thomas Manu to assist Mr. Cosmas Nkansah in his catechist work. Mr. Nkansah travelled in the year 2003 and was replaced by Mr. Stephen Coffie as a Catechist. The first parochial council chairman was Mr. Osei Acheampong who was later succeded by Mr. Twumasi.
Parish Committee Mr. John Osei Kwabena (President), Mr. Owusu Ansah (Vice President), Kate Osei Antwi (Secretary), Stephen Coffie (Catechists).
Finance Committee Mr. Buchman (Chairman), Joseph Emmanuel Oduro (Secretary)
Various Parish Societies/Associations/    
  President Secretary
SAINT THERESA OF THE CHILD JESUS Mrs. Joana Ampah Amponsah Monica Attah Kusi
YOUNGSTERS Mr. Aloysius Baah Mrs. Kate Osei Antwi
CHOIR Amoah Solomon  
C.Y.O Yaw Addo  
ST. AGNES’ GUILD David Marfo  
SACRED HEART OF JESUS Mrs. Monica Afriyie Kusi Kwaku Boateng
CATECHISTS’ ASSOCIATION Mr. Paul Forkuo Mr. Stephen Coffie
Outstations   [2]  
Sunday Service 9.00 a.m
Catechist Francis Darko
 Medoma - South Africa  St. Michael's
SCHOOLS Ahwiaa R/C Primary ‘A’ and ‘B’
Heads: Primary ‘A' E. K. Asante
Primary ‘B’ Frimpong


About Us

The diocese of Konongo‑Mampong was created on 3 March 1995 by His Holiness Pope John Paul II.  It was carved out of two other dioceses, namely the Diocese of Kumasi and the diocese of Sunyani.  About 90% of the territory of the new diocese of Konongo- Mampong belonged to the diocese of Kumasi, which was created in 1950.

Contact Us

Catholic Diocese of Konongo-Mampong
P.O. Box 382,
Mampong-Ashanti ,Ghana
Telephone: +233-(0)561-22101
Fax: +233-(0)561-22101